ISHA recognizes outstanding achievement of its members with two special award programs: the ISHY Communication Awards and the Schroeder Award.

Communication Awards

The Communication Awards program was established to provide recognition for excellence in publications by all member sports museums, halls of fame or sports heritage organizations, regardless of size or budget, based upon a competition evaluated by ISHA members and communications professionals.

Considering the variety of communications utilized by member institutions, ISHA recognizes eight (8) different categories, within two classifications of competition (based on member institution’s annual operating budget). The eight categories recognized include:

  • Books, printed hard-cover or soft-bound
  • Single issue programs, annual reports, exhibit catalogs
  • Published newsletters, magazines or other periodicals
  • General Consumer Materials (such as brochures, flyers, print ads, rack cards, or visitor guides)
  • Educational Programming Materials
  • Mixed Media Campaign Materials
  • Video-Short Presentations of 5 minutes or less
  • Web sites

 2017 ISHA Communication Awards

ISHY 002The 2018 Communication Awards application will be posted here when available.



Schroeder Award

The W.R. “Bill” Schroeder Award is presented periodically and is the highest honor presented by ISHA. It is awarded for meritorious service to ISHA or to the sports museum industry. To be considered, individuals must have made a significant contribution of a lasting nature to the field of sports heritage.


The W.R. “Bill” Schroeder Award was first awarded in 1985 in recognition of Bill Schroeder’s pioneering contributions in the development of sports museums and halls of fame and as a founding father, past president and past secretary of the Association of Sports Museums and Halls of Fame (ISHA).

Eligibility Requirements:
  • To be considered, individuals must have made a significant contribution of a lasting nature to the field of sports heritage.
  • Nominees may be still actively involved or retired.

The Schroeder Award Committee, which consists of a Board Member and several past Schroeder Award Recipients, reviews potential candidates on a yearly basis and may present a nomination for approval by the Board of Directors.

Any nominations for the Schroeder Award should be addressed to the attention of Chair of the Schroeder Award Committee at


Past Recipients of the Schroeder Award for Distinguished Service:
  • William “Buck” Dawson
    Year: 1985
    International Swimming Hall of Fame

  • Lee Williams
    Year: 1985
    Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

  • Bruce Pluckhahn
    Year: 1986
    International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame

  • Peter Webster
    Year: 1987
    British Columbia Sports Hall of Fame and Museum

  • M.H. “Lefty” Reid
    Year: 1988
    Hockey Hall of Fame

  • J. Thomas West
    Year: 1989
    Olympic (Canada)

  • Robert B. and Fanny Kutz
    Year: 1990
    Fresh Water Fishing Hall of Fame

  • James McDowell, Jr.
    Year: 1991
    College Football Hall of Fame

  • Phillip A. Pines
    Year: 1992
    Hall of Fame of the Trotter (now the Harness Racing Museum and Hall of Fame)

  • John Bankert
    Year: 1993
    Pro Football Hall of Fame

  • Vaughan L. Baird, Q.C.
    Year: 1994
    Aquatic Hall of Fame and Museum of Canada

  • Charlie and Emmadale McLeary
    Year: 1995
    Texas Sports Hall of Fame

  • Braven Dyer
    Year: 1996
    Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles

  • Ed Scheele
    Year: 1997
    Greyhound Hall of Fame

  • Ian “Scotty” Morrison
    Year: 1998
    Hockey Hall of Fame

  • Marjorie Smith
    Year: 1999
    Trapshooting Hall of Fame and Museum

  • F. Tucker Mulrooney
    Year: 2000
    Delaware Sports Museum and Hall of Fame

  • Gerald W. Baltz, Ph.D.
    Year: 2001
    International Bowling Museum and Hall of Fame

  • Karen Goddy
    Year: 2003
    Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles

  • Raymond Leverton
    Year: 2005
    US National Ski Hall of Fame

  • Mark Stenning
    Year: 2007
    International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum

  • Mark Duenkel
    Year: 2008
    International Swimming Hall of Fame

  • Phil Pritchard
    Year: 2009
    Hockey Hall of Fame

  • Diane Imrie
    Year: 2010
    Northwest Ontario Sports Hall of Fame

  • Karen Hewson
    Year: 2011
    Canadian Golf Hall of Fame and Museum

  • Peter Clark
    Year: 2013
    National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

  • Ted Spencer
    Year: 2013
    The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

  • Dr. Randon Jerris
    Year: 2015
    United States Golf Association

    Dr. Randon Jerris: Dr. Jerris holds a B.A. in Geology (1991) and an M.A. in Art History and Museum Studies (1994) from Williams College, and an M.A. in Art and Archaeology (1996) and a Ph.D. in Art and Archaeology (1999) from Princeton University.  He has authored three books: Golf’s Golden Age: Robert T. Jones Jr. and the Legendary Players of the ‘10s, ‘20s, and ‘30s; The Game of Golf and the Printed Word: 1566-2005, with co-author Richard E. Donovan; and The Historical Dictionary of Golf, with co-author Bill Mallon. For his work with Donovan, Jerris was awarded the Murdoch Medal by the British Golf Collectors Society in recognition of outstanding contributions to the game’s history. Dr. Jerris joined the USGA’s staff in a part-time capacity from 1988 through 1996, became the Association’s librarian and historian in 1999 and was named director of the Museum in 2002.  He led the efforts for the design and new construction of the 33,000 square foot Arnold Palmer Center for Golf History and oversaw the renovation of the original Museum structure.  Today as the United States Golf Association’s senior managing director for public services, Rand Jerris oversees a variety of functions, including facilities management, Green Section, philanthropy and grants, strategic and operational planning, and the USGA Museum. He remains active in researching and promoting the history of the game, focused on golf course architecture, golf art and the history of golf in the Alps.

  • Doug Stark
    Year: 2016
    International Tennis Hall of Fame

  • Sheila Kelly
    Year: 2017
    Saskactchewan Sports Hall of Fame